BY CHARLES EVANS
The builder of Loseley, where a house existed from much earlier times, was Sir William More, a kinsman of the Blessed Sir Thomas More, and son of Sir Christopher More, a trusted servant of Henry VIII. Building accounts show the work to have occupied the years 1561-69, so that the house is one of the earliest built under Queen Elizabeth – who often visited Loseley. The design is an interesting development from Gothic tradition towards the stricter symmetry and more restrained lines of the next age.
The materials consist of ragstone from the ruins of Waverley Abbey near Farnham, and the local hard chalk – in which is carved a number of ornate chimney-pieces in the house.
The hall preserves its original form but has been regularly altered. Its most interesting feature is a series of carved, inlaid and painted panels brought in 1685 from Henry VIII’s fantastic palace of Nonsuch in 1685.
Other rooms contain elaborate ceilings and good family portraits.
The late 17th Century terrace gardens are picturesque.